Collection object: Book

Book, Limerick printed: Sermon / Preached in the Cathedral Church of Limerick, / on Wednesday, the 29th of October, 1823, / at the / Funeral /of the / Rev. W. D. Hoare, A.M. / Vicar-General of the Diocese, / by / John, Bishop of Limerick; / prefaced by / A circumstantial account of his lamented death, and followed by extracts / from other Sermons on the same subject - with a list of those who have / subscribed for a monument to be erected to him in St. George's Church. / Limerick: / Printed by / Richard Canter, Francis-Street. / 1823. 38pp. Blue buckram covers titled in gilt on spine. No watermarks. P.3-4, account of accident: left house at Lifford in a gig going to Shanagolden; gig overturned, fatally injured. P.5-9, account of funeral: crowds at Lifford, procession to St Marys, streets travelled, Mendicity house, Dr Tuohy, RC Bishop and Rev McNamara, RC Dean, in procession; anthem by choir, Mr Osborne jun on organ. P11-29, sermon by Bishop John Jebb. P.30-34, extracts from sermons by Rev Mr Foster at the cathedral on Sun 26 Oct, by Rev Mr Duddell at St Munchins Church and by Rev Mr Fitzgibbon at St Johns Church on same day. P.35-38, list of subscribers to monument. Subscribers to monument: John Jebb, Archdeacon Maunsell, Thomas Jackson, Capt Ormsby, William Taylor, Hon John Massy, Patrick Murphy, Rev H I Ingram, Rev Charles Forster, R H Maunsell, Rev Jas W Forster, D F G Mahony, Edward E Maunsell, John Lee, Jonathan Thompson, William Fosbery, Chas B Newenham, Charles Dunlevie, Dr Townley, Mrs Col Knight, Rev Dean Maunsell, M Jameson, Robert Langford, Rev P Peacock, Surgeon Thwaites, Surgeon Gibson, William Roche, Paul Erson, James Bannatyne, Arthur Sayers, Mrs Sayers sen., Major Ryan, Robert Maunsell, Henry Maunsell, Surgeon Franklin jun, Rev William Waller, Capt Drought, Joseph Goslett, Dr Carroll, Richard C Langford, Edward Bernard, Luke Bernard, Rev John Duddell, Joseph Gabbett, Joseph Wormleighton, Thomas Gelston, Charles James, William Smyth, Dr Campion, Robert Geo Maunsell, Derby O'Grady, Surgeon & Mrs Franklin, William Bizley, George Dartnell, Dr James Sayers, Rev J O'Donoghue, George Vincent (Erina), Edward & Mrs Sayers, Rev B Cox, Surgeon Ormsby, Rev W M Fitzgerald, Rouly Highland, Thomas M Rose, Ensign Milwood, George P Drew, George C Frend, Dr Hargrove, Rev Charles Hargrove, Stephen E Rice, Thomas S Rice MP, J Colpoys, John N & Mrs Russell, Dr Lyons, William Phelps, Dan Barrington, James G Russell, William Benn, Mrs F P Russell, Mrs Barry, Miss Knowles, Miss Sayers, Miss M Sayers, Miss F M Scanlan, Miss Maunsell (3), Miss Lloyd, Mrs Dawson, Mrs Bernard, Mrs E Bernard, Mrs Rose, Miss Hargrove, Miss C Hargrove, Mrs Baylee, Miss Gough, Mrs G C Frend, Mrs J Colpoys, Mrs Bennett, Miss Scanlan, Mrs Dr Lyons, Mrs Blood, Mrs Watson, Mrs A J Watson.
Identifier: 2001.0488
Physical Dimensions: H. 20.4 W. 13.3
Date: 1823

Related Entities

William D Hoare (associated with)
Bookmark and Share
Phone: 00353 (0)61 417826   |   Fax: 00353 (0)61 415266   |   Email:

© 2009-2014 Limerick City and County Council